What Is PWD Category?

Charlotte Miller

Are you curious to know what is PWD category? You have come to the right place as I am going to tell you everything about PWD category in a very simple explanation. Without further discussion let’s begin to know what is PWD category?

In the realm of government policies and services, the PWD category plays a crucial role, aiming to provide inclusivity and accessibility. This article aims to provide an in-depth exploration of “What Is PWD Category,” shedding light on its classifications, eligibility criteria, and its significance in India.

What Is PWD Category?

The term PWD stands for Persons with Disabilities, and the PWD category encompasses a classification system designed to recognize and support individuals with different disabilities. This classification ensures tailored benefits, accommodations, and opportunities for those falling under the PWD umbrella.

Also Read N: What Is Work Function?

PWD Category List:

The PWD category list categorizes disabilities based on their nature and impact. Common classifications include visual impairment, hearing impairment, locomotor disabilities, intellectual disabilities, and more. Each category aims to address the unique needs and challenges associated with specific disabilities.

Also Read P: What Is Mutual Inductance?

PWD Category A B C D:

The PWD category is further sub-divided into categories A, B, C, and D, each denoting a different degree of disability. Understanding these classifications is crucial for accurately assessing an individual’s needs and providing appropriate support and accommodations.

  • PWD Category A: Individuals with 40% to 80% disability fall under Category A.
  • PWD Category B: Those with 81% to 100% disability are classified under Category B.
  • PWD Category C: This category includes individuals with benchmark disabilities specified in the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016.
  • PWD Category D: Individuals with disabilities not covered under the specified benchmark disabilities are included in Category D.

What Is PWD Category In India?

In India, the PWD category is a significant aspect of government policies and programs aimed at ensuring equal opportunities and accessibility for individuals with disabilities. The classification system helps in the effective implementation of welfare measures and initiatives.

What Is PWD Category In Hindi?

In Hindi, PWD Category is referred to as “दिव्यांग श्रेणी.” The classification system is designed to address the diverse needs of individuals with disabilities and promote their inclusion in various facets of society.

PWD Category C Means:

PWD Category C includes individuals with benchmark disabilities specified in the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act, 2016. This category ensures that those with specific disabilities listed in the act receive appropriate accommodations and support.

PWD B Category:

PWD B Category encompasses individuals with severe disabilities, with a disability percentage ranging from 81% to 100%. This classification recognizes the higher level of support and accommodations required for individuals falling under this category.

PWD Category Eligibility:

Eligibility for the PWD category is determined based on the nature and degree of disability. Individuals undergo assessments conducted by medical professionals to ascertain their eligibility for specific categories, ensuring that they receive tailored support and benefits.

PWD Category A B C D E Means In Hindi:

In Hindi, the classification of PWD categories is expressed as “दिव्यांग श्रेणी ए बी सी डी ई का मतलब.” This highlights the meanings and distinctions between the various PWD categories, emphasizing the importance of accurate classification for effective support.


In conclusion, the PWD category is a vital framework that ensures the inclusivity and welfare of individuals with disabilities. The categorization, eligibility criteria, and distinct classifications enable the government and other stakeholders to implement targeted measures, creating an environment where individuals with disabilities can thrive. Understanding the nuances of the PWD category is pivotal for fostering a more inclusive and equitable society, where everyone has the opportunity to lead a fulfilling life, irrespective of their abilities.


Who Is Considered As PWD?

The term persons with disabilities is used to apply to all persons with disabilities including those who have long-term physical, mental, intellectual or sensory impairments which, in interaction with various attitudinal and environmental barriers, hinders their full and effective participation in society on an equal …

What Is PWD Category Candidates?

Electors / Voters having one among the 21 disabilities as mentioned by the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Act 2016 are termed as voters with disabilities. As of now, PWD voters are enrolled in electoral roll in following four categories. Visual impairment. Speech & hearing disability. Locomotor disability.

Who Came Under PWD Category?

PWD Category: A Person with Disabilities (PWD) is defined as someone who has a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities. This includes people who are deaf, blind, have mobility issues, have mental health conditions and other disabilities.

Is PWD And Obc Same?

It refers to the Persons With Disabilities (PWD) who belong to Other Backward Classes (OBC) Category. What is the full form of PWD?

I Have Covered All The Following Queries And Topics In The Above Article

PWD Category List

PWD Category A B C D

What Is PWD Category In India

What Is PWD Category In Hindi

PWD Category C Means

PWD B Category

PWD Category Eligibility

PWD Category A B C D E Means In Hindi

What Is PWD Category